Meatless Mondays

finalpastaplate (1)

We always try to make one dinner a week meatless aka, “Meatless Mondays“. Which is an actual global movement we try to follow in our household. One it’s healthier, two it helps the environment, and three it helps out my budget. One tried and true meal I can always count on is my “Fried” Veggie and Pasta plate. I simply serve spaghetti with oven baked “fried” veggies.

This meal isn’t so simple though it actually takes me an hour to get it on the table. One I have to slice the zucchini up then dip it in a seasoned flour mixture, then dip it into the egg mixture, and lastly into the breadcrumbs then onto the baking sheet. (The girls love to help with this part.) ย I use Progresso Italian style breadcrumbs because my store doesn’t carry the Emeril Lagasse Panko Italian breadcrumbs which are so much better and crunchier!

breadcrumbs (1)

To get that fried taste I spray both sides of the breaded zucchini with cooking oil. I also use a pan with holes-my trick! ย It does make a mess and I have to clean my oven at least once a week. If you have those bakers cooling racks you could use those on top of a cookie sheet to get the same effect without the mess.

Zuchini (1)

Whatever I have leftover from breading the zucchini I use to bread some mushrooms (Julie and I love them). I bake them for about 20 minutes at 400. I turn them over after 10 minutes. Since I am not serving a meat I use the Barilla Plus Spaghetti or the Ancient grains Quinoa pasta because it makes up for no meat and is more filling. I buy whatever pasta sauce is cheapest that week.

Pastanight (1)

quinoapasta (1)

I try to cook the pasta two minutes short of what is suggested on the box because Dr. Oz said it the best way to cook pasta for your body to really get the most out of it. This meal can be changed up by whatever pasta is in the pantry and sauce (the kids do love alfredo too). If eggplant is cheaper that week I go with that and if I can get the Kraft Fresh Takes Italian Parmesan for under a $1.00 that week then I use that to do the breading.

I used these mixtures to bread a zucchini 3 inches in diameter and about 10 inches long.

Flour Mixture:

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Onion Powder

1/2 tsp Garlic Salt

1/2 tsp Pepper

 

Egg Mixture:

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

KidsPastanight (1)

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

