Meatless Mondays-Stuffed Shells

shellsplate

Today’s Meatless meal was another one that takes some prep work but it’s well worth it, promise-it’s warm, cheesy, comforting and just-good. I used a recipe from 101 Cookbooks that I found on pinterest. I did alter it a bit because adding in spinach whenever you can is always a win! I did really like her sauce recipe and will have to try it sometime. I served this meal with garlic bread and my favorite oven fried veggies.

shellssetup

This was her recipe Filling:

1 15-ounce container ricotta cheese
1 egg, beaten
1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 cup / ~5 oz grated mozzarella
1 bunch of chives, minced ( I omitted this and added in sauted spinach)

My Recipe:

1 32 oz container of ricotta cheese
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp of Italian seasoning
2 cup grated Mozzarella
1 cup Parmesan for sprinkle on top
3 cups sauteed spinach (add 2 tsp of oil to pan, then 2 cubes garlic, then spinach, after spinach has wilted down add a cube of basil.)  

spinach`

Sorry I could not figure out how to flip this picture but as you can see I did figure out how to enlarge them! I just might make it in this blogging world after all. 😉  I wanted you to see these amazing little frozen packages of garlic and basil! I found them in my mom’s freezer this summer and fell in love with them! They are sold at Walmart in the frozen section. So first I gathered all my ingredients, turned on a huge pot of water to boil for the shells, turned on the oven to 350 degrees, and then sauteed the spinach first so it can cool while I am making the ricotta mixture.

123Shells

Let the spinach cool. Next carefully drop the shells into the boiling water, and make sure to salt the water. SET the timer for two minutes before the suggested time on the box! You do not-I repeat-YOU DO NOT want to overcook these or they will be hard to stuff. Next mix up your ricotta filling. Add in the cooled spinach and its ready for stuffing. Drain shells and fill with some cool water to keep them damp because this is the time consuming part and if you don’t they will start to stick together-I learned this the hard way. Pour half of the pasta sauce into your baking dish and then place the stuffed shells into the sauce. I used an ice cream scoop to fill them and it kept the filling size consistent. When they are all lined up and ready to go into the oven I cover them with foil for 30 minutes then unwrap and top with the cup of Parmesan cheese and back into the oven they go to brown for 15 more minutes. Let cool for another 10 minutes then its ready to serve!

cookedshells

We all really enjoyed this meal. It reminded me of this spinach lasagna Rey and I made for my grandma last winter. I will have to get that recipe from her to share! Reyrey said if we added in pepperoni to the cheese mixture it would taste like pizza. 😉 Maybe next time!

Sadiehelping

Enjoy!

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

