Fall Challenge making your home a Haven!

I have been following Courtney for a couple months and I can’t wait for this challenge to begin! I am new to this challenge but I am going to try it out this fall! Come follow along and try it out with me! I have pasted all the details about the challenge below from Courtney’s site. You can go here on Courtney’s site to enter the giveaway for this week which is an iPad Mini!

Each week Courtney will give you one practical tip and one spiritual tip that you can do to create a haven in your home.

Here’s the topic schedule:

Week 1: October 7th –Go buy an extra large candle and light a candle everyday in your home. I will be starting mine in the morning but you can start yours at dinner time. Do what makes sense for your family. I will be placing mine in the kitchen – the main hub of my home.Each time the candle catches your eye, say a prayer for peace in your home.

The Giveaway: 
A year’s supply of Yankee Candles (12 large Jar Candles)
Week 2: October 14 – Plan a Family Fun Night.   Have a pillow party in the family room and get out every blanket and pillow in the house and be cozy with the kids or your hubby! Even if you live alone you can do this. Enjoy a cozy evening of hot cider and caramel corn.  Bust out some old fashioned games and take the time to savor these moments with your loved ones. Work on gentleness this week.
The Giveaway:
10 Pack of Games including – Checkers, Scrabble, Monopoly,
Uno, Battleship, Pictionary, Apples to Apples, Candy Land, Risk, & Life.
Week 3: October 21 – Focus on the kitchen, the heart of the home.  Cook things with pleasant aromas like homemade bread, pies, and cookies.  Don’t wait to have a reason to make something special – do it simply to show love to your family. Invite your kids and/or hubby to cook along side of you – make memories in the kitchen – test tasting, being creative, laughing and loving. Remember the importance of dinner time around the table as a family. Work on showing love to your family this week.  
The Giveaway:
A Kitchen Aid Mixer
Week 4 October 28 – Decorate! The holidays are almost upon us. Ann Voskamp says “Creating is good theology.  In the beginning God created.”  Be creative as you make your home warm, cozy and inviting for the holidays.  Think about ways you can keep Christ in Christmas even in the way you decorate.  Give thanks to God for the home He has given you in which to create a haven for your family.
The Giveaway:
Potttery Barn Christmas Wall Art

So let’s begin – let’s begin by cleaning up clutter in our homes this week.   Fall is a great time to pick a closet or drawer or cabinet to clean out.  While we’re at it – let’s clean up some clutter in our spiritual lives.

Think about – what gets in the way of your peace spiritually?

Could it be that the noise of this world has crowded out the voice of the GREAT I AM?

Jesus said:

“I am the bread of life.” John 6:35
I amthe light of the world.” John 8:12
I am the door.” John 10:9
I am the good shepherd.” John 10:11
I am the resurrection and the life.” John 11:25
I am the way, and the truth and the life.” John 14:6
“I am the vine.” John 15:5

Turn to the GREAT I AM this week – listen to his voice. Let him be your bread, your light, your door, your shepherd, your resurrection, your life, your truth and your vine.

 

This week I will be stocking up on candles! LOTS of candles! I like fall scented candles and baked good scented candles!

I will also be cleaning out these areas below! Are you going to join let me know below! What areas will you be decluttering?

ClutterChallenge

3 thoughts on “Fall Challenge making your home a Haven!

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

