Healthy Home-Detoxifying your Food

Detoxifying food

 

 I first learned about organic produce and other natural remedies from the book Natural Cures by Kevin Trudeau, it was a hand me down from my grandmother. After that-I was hooked and dug in deep to find out more about natural remedies and organic foods!

I came across Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, where she exposed the hazards of the pesticide DDT and she described how DDT entered the food chain and collected in the fatty tissues of animals, including human beings, and caused cancer and genetic damage. After further research I learned that the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) reported in 2007, that over 1 billion tons of pesticides are used in the US every year. This was it for me! All the proof I needed!  I was determined to rid my body of chemicals and toxins!

Today there is lots of research like the study conducted at the University of Washington which showed that you can significantly and immediately reduce the amounts of pesticides in your child’s body by switching to organic foods.

When available and affordable, I go organic! Here is the infamous dirty dozen list to start with. These 12 fruits and vegetables have the most pesticide residue so when available go organic with these! I never find all of these in the organic section at my stores. Maybe two or three  at the most, so just go organic when you can, and don’t freak out about it.

dirtydozen

Click here to check out Nadia’s post on Body Unburdened. She has a wonderful site full of great information go check it out! & Thank you Nadia for allowing me to share this amazing graphic with my readers!

Remember to always wash your produce!

Here are two great recipes!

Picture-15

Click to see Nadia’s Super Easy Recipe!

Another option to avoid unwanted pesticides is to grow your own veggies and plant fruit trees and bushes! Not only will it save you money, but you will have peace of mind in knowing your food is safe. Gardening, are you crazy?!? Yes, start here! If we didn’t move so much I would have my own.

Earlier in this series I posted Let me be your friend & let’s protect Children’s Health together!Healthy Home-Cleaning Tips,  Healthy Home-Safer Cleaning Products, and Healthy Home-Air Quality in Your Home.

Cited Sources:

Carson, R. (1994). Silent spring. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.

Lu, C. et al. “Organic diets significantly lower children’s dietary exposure to organophosphorus pesticides.” Environmental Health Perspectives Vol. 114, No. 2:260-263. 2006

United States Environmental Protection Agency. (2011). Pesticide news story: EPA releases report containing latest estimates of pesticide use in the United States.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Home-Detoxifying your Food

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

