Truthful Thursdays #TT

 

Truthful Thursdays

Where I will share my truths as a Mother & Stepmother.

My truths for today.

  1. I could not sleep last (Thursday) night…I stayed up till 2:30 a.m. watching Days of Our Lives. I am really worried about Sadie starting school, so much when I finally did fall asleep that’s what I dreamed about! Friday we will be meeting Sadie’s teacher. I hope Sadie likes her, and I hope she is a good fit for Sadie.
  2. Thinking back on Reyrey’s first day of Kindergarten, I did not have all this anxiety-it was a fun milestone for him! We were very excited and happy-I don’t remember this much anxiety on my end. Which really triggered my stepmom guilty that maybe at that time I did not love him as much as I thought. I found this video on StepMom Magazine which really helped me accept that love for another’s child is not automatic, but grows. Don’t get me wrong here-because I do very much love them, care for them, and want the best for them, but the love is not acquired the same as with my own children.
  3. We met all the kids teachers on Friday evening and I have to say I think this will be a great year! Sadie’s teacher is new to teaching this year, she seems very understanding of what I am going through as her son is starting kindergarten too! I love her classroom set up and Dr. Seuss decor. Julie’s teacher was so down to earth! I just loved how upfront she was about what she expects and she told Julie when they work hard she will reward them. Reyrey’s teacher was very attentive to his needs and explained how things will work very differently in 6th compared to 5th-he is very excited this year as he is now old enough to play tackle football.
  4. Have you meet your child’s(ren’s) teacher? When it comes to school and rules-do you have any rules for your children in addition to the schools?ย 

Here is the video I was talking about! It’s a great reminder for StepMoms about how to deal with these issues.

 

These are my truths of the week, I hope you share yours!

It’s way past Thursday but I wanted to still share these thoughts with you all.

Have a great weekend!

8 thoughts on “Truthful Thursdays #TT

  1. Janet W. says:

    I find myself staying up late worrying about different things, too. The first day of school is always worrisome because you just don’t know what to expect.

  2. DG Middendorf says:

    I just reread this and decided you do the same thing as I do when I can’t sleep. You watch Days of Our Lives. So sad that Sammy and EJ are leaving! )-:

  3. I remember my daughters first days in kindergarten. I was nervous even. She’s so shy I was worried she wouldn’t make any friends. Still by the end of the year, she was helping other kids with their math and making a few new friends. Just hoping this year goes as well.

  4. DG Middendorf says:

    Wow! You go back to school early. That is sad. We don’t go until the 20th and I thought that was bad. Then we don’t get out until the very beginning of June unless we don’t have any snow days. If we have too many then we go in to June quite a ways. Not to happy about school starting. It always makes me sad.

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

