Slow Cooker BBQ Apple Bacon Chicken Recipe

BBQ Apple Bacon Chicken

I originally found this recipe on Six Sisters’ Stuff, but have also seen different variations like the one on Wellness Momma. I have made this meal many times, slightly different each time and it always comes out great. I am a bit of a rule breaker when it comes to recipes, whatever I have on hand-I use, and I am often substituting for what I don’t have.

Bacon Wrapped Crock Pot Chicken

Step one gather all your ingredients. My go to basics are boneless skinless chicken breast, bacon, apples, and BBQ sauce. One lemon juiced if you have it and a teaspoon of garlic if you are a garlic lover.

I had frozen diced apples (from when they were on sale), chicken, bacon, and half a bottle of BBQ sauce. I didn’t have lemons so I just omitted that this time and substituted for a 1/4 cup of water swished around in my BBQ sauce bottle. (The children preferred the grated apples over the diced apples.)

Step two layer or just dump all the ingredients into the slow cooker then set it and forget it! Just kidding I have always wanted to say that..anyone remember those infomercials? If you forget it, you will probably remember when it starts smelling like something is cook and you know you haven’t been in the kitchen so maybe, fingers crossed, the hubby has brought home dinner, and you get up to investigate and your nose leads you to your crock pot full of yummy BBQ-bacon-chicken goodness. (I usually just pat myself on the back and say thank goodness I remember to start this in the morning.)

Any who, if you are a lot better at time management and memory than I, you can set your slow cooker to low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

BBQ Apple Bacon Chicken Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3-4 boneless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1-2 apples, peeled and grated/diced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 6-8 slices bacon

Directions:
1. In small bowl, combine BBQ sauce with grated/diced apple, garlic powder, and lemon juice.
2. Wrap 2 pieces of bacon around each chicken breast. Place chicken breasts in base of crock pot, pour BBQ/apple mixture over the chicken.Β  Set to low and cook for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

Serve with your families favorite sides and enjoy!

Easy Chicken Dinner

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker BBQ Apple Bacon Chicken Recipe

Love your comments, input, and opinions! Please share...

